Class of 2023

Share this post on:

The National Sailing Hall of Fame (NSHOF) has announced this year’s class of inductees, people who have contributed to the world of sailing through education, innovation, and advocacy over the past decades.

“We’re immensely proud of our inductees this year, as they represent everything we love most about the sport,” said Gary Jobson, NSHOF co-president. “Their contributions to the world of sailing have deeply impacted and touched all of our lives, and each of them has created a hefty legacy for the rest of us to live up to. We are delighted to honor their accomplishments and welcome them into the Hall of Fame.”

Nominees must be American citizens at least 55 years old who have made a “sustained and significant impact on the growth and development of the sport in the United States at a national or international level” as a sailor, technical innovator, or cultural contributor.

The 10 inductees are:

Elwood Widmer “Skip” Etchells – After building ships for the U.S. Navy during WWII, Etchells founded the Old Greenwich Boat Company and built hundreds of competitive boats. His strove to deliver high-quality craftsmanship, with a company tagline of “Built Like a Yacht.”

Peter Holmberg – Holmberg’s racing expertise spans decades and classes, from a 1988 Olympic silver medal in the Finn Class to J Class yachts to three American’s Cup teams.

Sally Honey – Two-time Rolex Yachtswoman of the Year, Honey has had something of a renaissance woman’s career in sailing, with expertise in sailmaking, education, safety at sea, and racing. She led an all-female Transpac crew in 2005 and recently won the Newport- Bermuda race with her husband, Stan Honey, aboard her 56-year-old Cal 40.

John Kolius – Kolius’ racing expertise has spanned decades, from an Olympic silver in 1976, two victories in the J24 World Championships, skippering two America’s Cup campaigns, and coaching for the all-women’s team Mighty Mary in 1995.

William “Bill” Lapworth – Lapworth’s contribution to sailing comes from the technical side as a pioneer in fiberglass boats. He is behind the Cal 40, a design which has withstood the test of time and continues to win races to this day (see the Honeys’ 2022 Newport-Bermuda win and Dick Stearns III’s 2000 Chicago to Mackinac victory).

John Knox Marshall – Marshall raced several successful America’s Cup campaigns and won a bronze medal in the 1972 Olympics. He went on to be president of North Sails for many years and later became president of Hinckley Yachts.

Charles “Charley” Morgan – Morgan spent his career making sails, flying airplanes, designing, and building boats with his Morgan Yacht Corporation. He designed, built, made the sails for, managed, and skippered Heritage for the 1970 America’s Cup Defense Trials.

Robert “Bob” Perry – As someone who notes that his hobby became his occupation, Perry has designed comfortable, attractive, and easy-to-sail yachts. His boat reviews have been published in every issue of Sailing magazine for more than 40 years.

Richard “Dick” Stearns III – A skilled racing sailor and innovator, Stearns was part of the team that won the International Star Class World Championship in 1962 and in 1964 earned an Olympic silver medal. Stearns has also competed in 53 Chicago to Mackinac Island Races, winning in 2000 aboard his 35-year-old Cal 40.

The 2023 Lifetime Achievement Award recipient is Tim Hogan, president of the Interscholastic Sailing Association (ISSA) since 2005. He and his team have worked to double the roster of high school teams over the past 20 years. A three-time All American and successful offshore yacht racer, he says that his greatest accomplishment is instilling a love for sailing in his four children.

For more on the National Sailing Hall of Fame and their 114 inductees, visit

July 2023

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *